Pumpkin pie for breakfast?

I still remember that time when I used to have a chocolate croissant and coffee for breakfast. I was starving by lunch time after that. It never really filled me up. Now my breakfasts are different – they are high in protein, gluten free and very different every day. But the most important thing is that they fill me up – it is like a fuel which you put in the car and which keep your car going till the next “gas station” on full speed and not just dragging there.
I have variety of grains for breakfast like those described in so many other my posts

20110826-111116.jpg

Mix of wholegrain brown rice, corn, sorghum and buckwheat. 1/4 cup of uncooked cereal contains 4 g of dietary fiber and 4 g of protein. I buy them from Organic Supermarket of course. they are so cooled in my blog as Mighty Cereal – just love them.

Also I had a Big Day for organizing kitchen cupboards yesterday and I realized that I have a whole huge packet of Garbanzo and Fava Beans Flour. Hmm… Just thinking now what shall I use it for… Other then Socca of course.

There is still some few items I got recently from – what a surprise a LuLu hypermarket in Barsha – Lucuma Powder and Hemp Seeds. Both of this items I wanted to get for a long time and could not find them anywhere in Dubai. So how surprised I was to find them in LuLu?!?

New addition to the family of Super Foods in my pantry:

20110826-112037.jpg

More about Lukuma . It has a sweet taste, great for avocado ice cream and rich in B vitamins.
More on Hemp Seeds hemp seeds reach in Omega 3, Omega 6; packed with essential amino acids, easy to digest; gluten free and cholesterol free. Just one word – super foods! Great to kiss in to cerela or sprinkle over the salads.

And down the line, my today’s breakfast – Famous Fro-Yo. All healthy goodies all over the world love it and having it hundred different ways! Mine is always different, but today is Pumpkin Pie Fro-Yo

20110826-113308.jpg

Fro Yo is basically a mix of cold yogurt with protein powder and thinned out with a splash of milk or milk alternative of your choice. Today I mixed goat yogurt with 1/2 portion of Raw Organic Brown Rice Protein Powder, added 1 tbsp of almond butter, 2 tbsp of sesame seeds paste and thinned it out with goat milk. To make into pumpkin pie – just added 2 tbsp of home made pumpkin pure, 1 tsp of chia seeds (for omegas) and spiced it up with Pumpkin Spice Mix. I topped it up with some dry mulberries and dash of Yakon Syrup.

20110826-113849.jpg

Tastes just like Pumpkin pie filling or the frozen yogurt with pumpkin pie flavor but way healthier! And of course sugar free and gluten free -)

Hope you also have healthy breakfast on the Weekend day.
I am of to make egg tacos for late breakfast for Mr.R – who’s weekend breakfast always merged with my lunch -))) ahhh… The kNight and Day story continues -)))

Have a great weekend,

Elena

One response to this post.

  1. […] Pumpkin pie for breakfast? (hayahelwa.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a comment